Top 7 Facebook Tips and Tricks

Top 7 Facebook Tips and Tricks

If you are an avid user of this popular social platform, you will probably want to know some of the Facebook tips and tricks that you can use. Here we compile 7 Facebook tips and tricks that will give you a much more fulfilling experience in using this popular social media platform.

1. Feeling annoyed? Stop seeing updates from a friend without unfriending him/her

You most probably could not avoid this but you will have that one friend who constantly keep updating his/her status with everything that he/she does. Or maybe you have a friend that keeps updating on their political stand that is not the same as yours. These statuses you might tolerate once in a while but it will come to a point where it becomes annoying. So, you will then have the dilemma of unfriending him/her in Facebook but do not want to do so as you do not want to hurt his/her feelings.



Facebook have the settings of stopping selected updates from a friend but without the need to unfriend him/her. Here are the steps to do that.

block friend facebook

Step 1
Open your Facebook. Tap on the status updates from the friend you want to block. Tap at the top button to open the settings

Step 2
Tap the ‘Unfollow’ button. You now will never see their updates ever again in your wall but still remain as Facebook friend. Life is back to normal as usual. : )

2. Saved the interesting newsfeed for later reading

You are browsing Facebook and stumble upon an interesting article shared in your newsfeed. You want to read it but you have other more important things to do first. But if you don’t read it now, the newsfeed will later be drown with other status and newsfeed and you might forget about it. Fret not, Facebook have the ‘save for later reading’ function. Here are the steps to do this.

save newsfeed facebook

Step 1
Scroll down the news feed in your Facebook account. Once you find an interesting articles, post, links or videos, tap at the icon above far right at the post.

Step 2
Tap the ‘Save Video’ it is a video or tap the ‘Save Link’ if it is an article or post.
The link or video will be saved in your ‘Saved’ column for later reading.



3. Block that annoying request to join a game on Facebook

Keep receiving that annoying request to join a game in Facebook? You can actually block that request forever and no one can bother you now in Facebook. Here are the steps to do that.

block game request facebook

Step 1
Open your Facebook account. Tap at the icon far right above as shown.

Step 2
Once the scroll down menu is open, tap on the ‘Settings’

block game request facebook 2

Step 3
In the Settings, choose ‘Blocking’

Step 4
In the Blocking menu, you will a list of ‘Blocking’ option. Tap on the ‘Block Apps’. You will then need to type the name of the app or game that you do not want to receive any invitation to participate. The search area will show some name suggestion as you type in the name of the app. Choose the one you want to block and that’s it.

4. Want to save some data charge? How to disable autoplay videos on Facebook

Facebook have recently make videos that have been uploaded into Facebook to play automatically once you scroll your wall for newsfeed. If you want to save some data, you can actually disable this settings so that you can only see videos that you are interested only. Here are the steps to disable this function.



Step 1
Open your Facebook account. Tap at the button at the upper far right of your screen.

Step 2
Tap on the ‘Settings’

Step 3
Once you are in the ‘Settings’, tap at the ‘Videos’

Step 4
At the video settings, look at the ‘Auto-Play Videos’. It is set at default but you can then change it to On or Off.

Read more on this on our previous post on how to disable auto-play videos on Facebook.

5. Not sure you have liked or unintentionally liked a post? Look at the Activity log to check

As we scrolling down our news feed, it is possible that you might have accidently tap on the like button. Or maybe you might have post something and you just want to trace back what you posted in a certain time frame or date. You can actually check all of your activities that you have done in Facebook by looking at the Activity log. This function is pretty useful as you would know if you have unintentionally tap a like on post or advertisers that you do not want to be shown in your timeline. Here are the steps on how you can check the activity log in your Facebook.

check activity log facebook

Step 1
Open your Facebook account.

Step 2
Tap into your profile

check activity log facebook 2

Step 3
In your Facebook profile, tap on the ‘Activity Log’ here.

Step 4
In the Activity log, you will see your list of activities done in Facebook. You can choose to redo or delete the activities by tapping in the button shown.



6. Concern on your privacy settings? You can view how your profile looks like to public and also to your friends

Some of the Facebook users are confused on the privacy settings of Facebook. They sometimes do not know which post or pictures can be viewed by their friends and which one can be viewed by public in general. Facebook have actually provided a function in which you can view your Facebook profile as a public and also view it as a specific person. This will help you understand more on the privacy settings and therefore you can further customized your privacy settings as to what you want to show to public and what you do not want to be shown. Here are the step by step on how you can do that.

privacy setting facebook

Step 1
Open your Facebook account and tap on this button above.

Step 2
At the ‘Privacy Checkup’, tap on the ‘Who can see my stuff’

privacy setting facebook

Step 3
Once you tap at the ‘Who can see my stuff’, you will now given option to view your Facebook profile as a general public (complete stranger) or to view as a specific person (in the eye of your friend).

7. Separate your friends, relatives and business contacts in your Facebook friend’s list

So, you just met this person in a seminar and then suddenly you receive their request to add as friend. So, how do you add someone is not your friend and in the same time control the things that they see and maintain your privacy? Luckily, Facebook acknowledged this awkward situation the Facebook users faced and have introduced categories to your friends list.So, here are the step by step on how to organize your friends in Facebook. Read more here on how to organize friends in Facebook if you want to learn more.

Step 1
Open your Facebook account and tap on the ‘Friends’ section

Step 2
Once you tap the ‘Friends’ section you will see a list of your friends in Facebook. Select the friends you want to de-categorized

Step 3
Tap at this button and you will be given choices of categories to pick. You can either leave it at default and that is the Friend category or change it to close friend or acquaintances. Each category has its own limitation to the newsfeed.

So, there you have it. Our top 7 Facebook Tips and Tricks that would definitely give you much more fun in using Facebook.


Share..Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestShare on RedditShare on TumblrDigg thisFlattr the authorEmail this to someonePrint this page
Click here to add a comment

Leave a comment: